MOTORCYCLE LAW ATTORNEY IN ORLANDO
What are Florida’s laws on motorcycles?
DOES FLORIDA ACCEPT MOTORCYCLE ENDORSEMENT FROM OTHER STATES?
IS DAYTIME HEADLIGHT USE REQUIRED?
Yes, required by law; Florida Statutes, 316.405
Modulating headlight permitted per Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, 571.108
IS EYE PROTECTION REQUIRED?
Required by law; Flordia Statutes, 316.211 (2)
WHAT ARE THE REGULATIONS REGARDING HANDLEBAR HEIGHT?
No higher than the top of the operator’s shoulders when seated upon the motorcycle; Flordia Statutes, 316.2095 (2)
ARE HELMET SPEAKERS ALLOWED?
No earphones allowed. Helmet speakers are allowed.
IS LANE SPLITTING ALLOWED?
No. The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken. No person shall operate a motorcycle between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles; Florida Statutes, 316.209 (2), (3)
IS THERE LEMON LAW COVERAGE?
WHAT IS THE MAXIMUM SOUND LEVEL?
Manufactured before 1/1/79–82 dBA (35 mph or less); 86 dBA (over 35 mph).
Manufactured after 1/1/79–78 dBA (35 mph or less); 82 dBA (over 35 mph).
Florida Statutes, 316.293 (2)
ARE BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT MIRRORS REQUIRED?
One required by law; Florida Statutes, 316.294
CAN MOTORCYCLES LEGALLY OPERATE TWO ABREAST IN THE SAME LANE?
Yes. All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane and no motor vehicle shall be driven in such manner as to deprive any motorcycle of the full use of a lane. This subsection shall not apply to motorcycles operated two abreast in a single lane. Motorcycles shall not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane; Florida Statutes, 316.209 (1), (4)
ARE MUFFLERS REQUIRED?
Required; Florida Statutes, 316.272
No modifications which increase sound to a level higher than the manufacturer’s original standard allowed; Florida Statutes, 316.293 (2), (5)
IS THERE A MOTORCYCLE PASSENGER AGE RESTRICTION?
ARE PASSENGER FOOTRESTS REQUIRED?
Required if carrying a passenger; Florida Statutes, 316.2095
DOES FLORIDA HAVE ANY PERIODIC SAFETY INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS?
ARE RADAR DETECTORS LEGAL?
WHAT IS REQUIRED TO RIDE?
- Rider-Education Waiver
- Skill & Knowledge Test
- Safety Helmet
- Helmets not required for riders over 21 with a minimum of $10,000 in medical insurance; Flordia Statutes, 316.211 (1), (4)
- State Funded Rider Ed
- Effective July 1, 2008 all first-time motorcycle license or endorsement applicants must complete a BRCFlorida Statutes, 322.12(5)(a)
WHAT ARE THE STATE INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS?
$10,000 per person bodily injury
$20,000 total bodily injury
$10,000 personal property damage liability
$30,000 single limit liability
ARE TURN SIGNALS REQUIRED?
Required; Florida Statutes, 316.222 (2)
There are many more other requirements regarding motorcycle law, if you have questions contact our motorcycle law attorney today!